Staff members of UF Department of Surgery honored for accomplishments and service

Carol Stanaland, an employee of the UF department of surgery since 2001, recently received one of the UF College of Medicine’s Superior Accomplishment Awards for contributing outstanding and meritorious service.

Noted as an ‘unsung hero’ and the ‘go-to’ person for almost any issue that arises, Stanaland was nominated by Kimberly Vaughn, MSN, ARNP, assistant director/outpatient clinical coordinator of the breast, melanoma, sarcoma and endocrine surgery services.

“Carol has served many roles in the department, often ‘filling in the holes’ when others could not,” wrote Vaughn in her nomination letter. “Even though most of us would not be enthusiastic about having unexpected additional duties arise on a regular basis, Carol will always pitch in with a good attitude in an effort to get things done.”

Vaughn also noted Stanaland’s respectfulness to patients and customers, her attention to detail, and her patience and tact when dealing with faculty and staff.

“She is composed and receptive to concerns even under the greatest stress,” Vaughn’s letter noted.

Vaughn also recognized Stanaland’s efforts beyond her work duties to enhance employee morale, including recognizing birthdays and special occasions.

Given annually, the awards also seek to recognize employees who have made exceptional contributions to UF’s efficiency and economy, or to the quality of life provided to students and employees. As part of the peer-recognition honor, Stanaland received a certificate and a $200 award.

When asked about her philosophy, Stanaland said she focuses on treating others as she would want to be treated.

UF’s Superior Accomplishment Awards Program was developed to recognize deserving university employees and is coordinated by the Office of Human Resource Services.

Additionally this spring, staff members from the University of Florida department of surgery were recognized for their years of service, as part of a Health Science Center-wide annual pin service award ceremony.

35 Years of Service 

Leslie Harlin

30 years of service 

Pamela Patton

25 Years of Service 

Michael Browning

Thelma Lewis

20 years of service 

Diane Palmeter

15 years of service 

Monica Jette

5 Years of Service

Shannon Barnes

Gina Tonogbanua Custer

Matthew Pfeiffer

Jennifer Rembisz

Teri Tesdall Sartori

Margo White

10 Years of Service 

Angela Avery

Nancy Hanson