Research Advisory Committee

The UF Department of Surgery Research Advisory Committee is comprised of nationally recognized scientists within and outside the Department. It serves as a resource for the research endeavors of both the faculty and the house staff. Under the leadership of Scott Berceli, M.D., Ph.D., this group meets at least quarterly, with three main responsibilities: 1) to assist the Chairman with the review of overall research priorities within the Department of Surgery 2) to promote faculty development and to facilitate research directions for individual faculty members, and 3) to assist the research efforts of the general surgical residents, post-doctoral research fellows and medical students. The Research Advisory Committee also determines the scientific agenda for the Department of Surgery Faculty and Resident Research Day.

Current members of the Research Advisory Committee are:

Scott A. Berceli, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Vice Chairman of Research, Department of Surgery, Biomedical Engineering

Dejana Braithwaite, Ph.D.

Professor of Epidemiology, Aging and Geriatric Research

Philip Efron, M.D.
Professor of Surgery and Anesthesiology

Zhihua Jiang, Ph.D.
Professor of Surgery

Shawn Larson, M.D.
Professor of Pediatric Surgery

Tyler Loftus, M.D.
Professor of Surgery

Robert Maile, Ph.D.

Professor of Surgery

Alicia Mohr, M.D.
Professor and Chief of Acute Care Surgery

Lyle L. Moldawer, Ph.D.
Professor of Surgery

Kerri A. O’Malley, Ph.D.
Professor of Surgery

Ashish K. Sharma, Ph.D.
Professor of Surgery

Ryan M. Thomas, M.D.
Professor of Surgery

Gilbert R. Upchurch Jr., M.D.
Chairman and Professor of Surgery

Kimberly Wollard, Ph.D.
Assistant Director of Research, Department of Surgery

Ali Zarrinpar, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Surgery