Department Funds

Department of Surgery General Support Fund
Support our Department of Surgery.

Edward R. Woodward Society
Supports post-graduate medical education, service and research.

Edward M. Copeland III and Ann and Ira Horowitz Department Chair
Support the chair of the Department of Surgery in perpetuity.

Edward R. Woodward Professorship
Supports an endowed professorship in the Department of Surgery.

Department of Surgery Research Awards Fund
Supports research awards in the Department of Surgery at the college. The fund name will be changed to the “Lyle Moldawer, Ph:D. Surgery Research Awards Fund” at an appropriate time after Dr. Moldawer’s retirement or earlier departure from the University.

N. Joseph Espat, M.D. Family Visiting Lectureship in honor of Stephen B. Vogel, M.D. Fund
Supports the Stephen B. Vogel, M.D. visiting lecturer to attend the annual Woodward Society Spring meeting. If this meeting ceases to exist, the fund will support an annual Stephen B. Vogel lecturer at Surgery Grand Rounds.

Hugh A. Walters Endowed Humanitarian Award                                                                                                                            This fund was established in 2013 by Curtis Walters and a group of donors to memorialize Hugh Walters and to support an award for a surgical resident who embodies the qualities of the compassionate care and selfless dedication to excellence.