Research Advisory Committee

The UF Department of Surgery Research Advisory Committee is comprised of nationally recognized scientists within and outside the Department.  It serves as a resource for the research endeavors of both the faculty and the house staff.  Under the leadership of Lyle L. Moldawer, Ph.D., this group meets at least bi-annually, with three main responsibilities: 1) to assist the Chairman with the review of overall research priorities within the Department of Surgery, 2) to promote faculty development and to facilitate research directions for individual faculty members, and 3) to assist the research efforts of the general surgical residents, post-doctoral research fellows and medical students.  The Research Advisory Committee also determines the scientific agenda for the Department of Surgery Faculty and Resident Research Day.

Current members of the Research Advisory Committee are:

Henry V. Baker, Ph.D.
Professor and Chairman, Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Professor of Surgery

Christopher Batich, Ph.D.
Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Kevin E. Behrns, M.D.
Professor and Chairman, Department of Surgery

Barry Byrne, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Associate Chairman of Pediatrics

George Casella, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor of Statistics

Michael Clare-Salzler, M.D.
Professor and Interim Chairman,
Department of Pathology, Laboratory Medicine and Immunology

Mark S. Gold, M.D.
Professor and Chair Psychiatry

Daiqing Liao, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Cell Biology and Anatomy

W. Stratford May, Jr., M.D.
Professor Hematology/Oncology

Lyle L. Moldawer, Ph.D.
Professor of Surgery

Richard Moyer, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology

Harry S. Nick, Ph.D.
Professor of Neuroscience

George A. Sarosi, M.D.
Associate Professor of Surgery

Stephen Sugrue, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean of Research Affairs, College of Medicine
Professor, Department of Cell Biology and Anatomy