Honors, Accolades and Awards

Maria Alfaro, MD

Honorable Mention award in the 2020 Surgical Critical Care Program Directors Society  “Innovation in Education” Award

Drs. Andreoni, Brackenridge and Spiguel

Successfully completed the 2019-2020 promotion and tenure cycle

Alexander Ayzengart, MD

President-Elect of Florida, Puerto Rico, and the Caribbean State Chapter of ASMBS

Thomas M. Beaver, MD, MPH

AORTA Young Investigator Award for his research paper: “The Florida Sleeve Procedure Is Durable and Improves Aortic Valve Function”

Azra Bihorac, MD, MS, Crystal Johnson-Mann, MD, and Dela Mosley, PhD

UF Racial Justice Fund Grant recipients

Ashley J. Beavers Counts, EdD, MHA, CHES

Successfully completed her Doctor of Education degree

Harvey W. Chim, MD

Inducted into the Chapman Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award Sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation.

Dijoia Darden, MD

Diversity Enhancement Award by the Shock Society

Philip A. Efron, MD 

Elected into the American Surgical Association

Kathleen Ehresmann

Robert R. Donahoe Memorial Award

Russell Hawkins, MD

Outstanding Housestaff Quality Award

Saleem Islam, MD

Outstanding Clerkship Director Award

Alexandra Ladd, MD

2020 American Liver Foundation Poster Competition participant

Tyler Loftus, MD

Winner of the RAS-ACS Communication’s Committee sponsored 2020 Essay Contest “Artificial Intelligence in Surgery: A Call to Action”, received a K23 grant from the NIH

Tiago Machuca, MD, PhD

Chief of the Division of Thoracic Surgery

Bruce Mast, MD

Board Vice President of Academic Affairs for ASPS

Jordan McKean, MD

Edward R. Woodward Surgical Award

Kassie Moench

Program Coordinator Superstar Award

Alicia M. Mohr, MD, FACS, FCCM

2020 Clinical Science Research Award

Rachel Nettle, ARNP

Outstanding Patient Experience Award

Peter Vonu, MD

Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Award

Ali Zarrinpar, MD, PhD, Narendra Battula, MD, and medical student Hannah Burris

Recipients of the 2020 American Society of Transplant Surgeons Research Grants.

UF Health Shands Hospital

Vizient Four-Star Rating

Ranked among the nation’s best in 9 medical specialties by U.S. News & World Reports for 2020-21

UF Health Vascular Surgery at Halifax Health

IAC accreditation