UF professor elected to American Board of Surgery’s board of directors

Sarosi George AGeorge Sarosi, M.D., Robert H. Hux professor in the UF Department of Surgery, has been elected to the American Board of Surgery’s (ABS) board of directors. He will serve a six-year term.

“It’s a huge honor. There is a lot of thought going into the structure of surgical training, and the American Board of Surgery plays a role in that. From the perspective of a program director, it’s exciting to have the opportunity to participate in national processes,” Sarosi says. The American Medical Association nominated the UF professor to the ABS board of directors. “With two directors on the ABS, the UF Department of Surgery is only one of four institutions currently represented by multiple board members,” said Kevin Behrns, M.D., Edward R. Woodward Professor and chairman of the UF Department of Surgery. Behrns is currently on the ABS board of directors. Since 1984, the department has had a director on the ABS board for all but five interspersed years,” he noted.

Other UF surgeons appointed to the ABS board include Edward M. Copeland, M.D., a former Edward R. Woodward Distinguished Professor of Surgery and chairman of surgery at the UF College of Medicine; Kirby Bland, M.D., a former professor and associate chairman at the UF Department of Surgery; and Timothy C Flynn, M.D., senior associate dean for clinical affairs at the University of Florida College of Medicine and chief medical officer at UF Health Shands Hospital.