UF critical care surgeons recognized at Critical Care Congress

Fred Moore, MDFrederick Moore, M.D., a professor and chief of acute care surgery in the University of Florida College of Medicine’s department of surgery, received the 2015 American College of Critical Care Medicine Distinguished Investigator Award at the Critical Care Congress held in January.

“This award recognizes an established clinical investigator for significant research contributions to critical care medicine,” reads a statement from the Society of Critical Care Medicine, of which the ACCM is a part.

At the same meeting, held in Phoenix, Lyle Moldawer, Ph.D., a professor and vice chairman of research for the department, delivered the Max Harry Weil Memorial Lecture. His presentation Moldawer_Lyle_2009was titled “Immunoregulation during Sepsis.”

Additionally, Alicia Mohr, M.D., an associate professor of surgery at UF and director of the surgical critical care residency program, was inducted as a fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine.

Azra Bihorac, M.D., a UF Health critical care doctor and an assistant professor in the department of anesthesiology, gave two presentations at the meeting, both on acute kidney injury. Bihorac works in the surgical intensive are unit at UF Health Shands Hospital.

Alicia Mohr, M.D., Acute care surgeon, UF Dept of Surgery